Andrew Furmanczyk Piano Academy :: Learn How To Play Piano
Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My "Screw the system, this can be done!" goals.

3 posters

Go down

My "Screw the system, this can be done!" goals. Empty My "Screw the system, this can be done!" goals.

Post by PaperDesigner Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:24 pm

I have, like many others, feared the concept of possessing a lower ceiling because I started playing piano later in life (a few years ago at twenty). I have heard the stat that it takes 10,000 hours to master something... I figure adults have trouble becoming true high-end pianists because once you get into your adult years, and things like a career and family and other time considerations enter your life, it's impossible to find the time to get to that level. My goal is to circumvent that, fulfill my potential by finding that many hours (I've probably practiced around 1000 hours total to this point), and hopefully be a concert pianist. I... have very little interest in NOT being able to play Revolutionary Etude, Beethoven's more complex sonatas, or anything else Chopin has written. There's a part of me that needs to express itself through complexity, and for that, I desperately desire to play incredibly difficult pieces.

So, my goals are (and I did break them down much the way Andrew recommended):

Long-term:
Concert Pianist
Excellent composer

Next three years (I'll be working on my undergraduate degree majoring in music during this time):
Grade 9 piano (Royal Conservatory) and progress on grade 10.
Strong pop, jazz, rock and classical ability.
Numerous written piano songs, both in both popular and classical forms.

This year: