Andrew Furmanczyk Piano Academy :: Learn How To Play Piano
Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Buying an upright piano

5 posters

Go down

Buying an upright piano Empty Buying an upright piano

Post by TheCat Sun Jul 12, 2009 8:51 pm

Hi, everybody, I'm new here. Smile
I've been playing guitar for 5 years now, and it's going great, but I've always wanted to learn piano as well. So I'm thinking of buying an upright piano, because of cost and lack of space for a grand. I believe my decision to get the 'real thing' and not a keyboard is right, but feel free to try to talk be out of it if you think otherwise.
Problem is, I know almost nothing about pianos. I'll try to find someone who does to help me with the purchase, but in the meantime I'd like to ask a few questions. Firstly, what is the price range for a decent upright piano? Also, what brands would you recommend? Should I buy used or new? Any other advice would be appreciated as well. Smile

TheCat

Male Number of posts : 4
Guru Points : 0
Registration date : 2009-07-12

Back to top Go down

Buying an upright piano Empty Re: Buying an upright piano

Post by Thomandy Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:50 pm

Hi Smile

Well! Yamaha is a safe bet. They are at least know for good quality, and are known on the marked! They are fair in price, and sound good! But you should go to a store and Test the piano if you are getting an acoustic piano. You would get a good piano for about 5000 bucks - 10 000 bucks!!

If this is to much you should think about getting a digital piano!! Its actually very good!! Not like the real thing, but I love my digital!! I was 3000 bucks, and is a Very good Digital Piano!! Smile You can also get deacent digitals for about 1500 +/-