Andrew Furmanczyk Piano Academy :: Learn How To Play Piano
Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Learning from the masters

5 posters

Go down

Learning from the masters Empty Learning from the masters

Post by jytte Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:03 pm

I'm a newbie, my foundation of theory is very basic at present. Unfortunately I didn't spend the last 10 years studying music theory, nor is it likely that I will spend the next 10 years with my nose in the music-theory-books (given my age). I am also very impatient, and I'm extremely tenacious (kinder word for stubborn). I find myself wanting to play music, that is light-years ahead of my skills, and that isn't available in one of those nice "scaled down for beginners" versions. So, being what I am, I search and search and finally find a full version of that particular music.

Now, when I look at the entire first page, it's basically Greek to me, and I know well that I'll never be able to play that. But, as this is music that I already know and love, I already have the "melody" in my head (that's my right hand right there) and I only need to figure out how to "pick the essence" and "boil down" the rest of the orchestra to make a "left hand" that I can actually play. I listen (hard) to recordings of that music, and that gives me a general idea of what is supposed to be happening in the "background", so to speak.