Andrew Furmanczyk Piano Academy :: Learn How To Play Piano
Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

question on contrary motion scales

3 posters

Go down

scales - question on contrary motion scales Empty question on contrary motion scales

Post by alsmat Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:42 pm

Hello,
I started playing piano two years ago and I've played scales for a few months now. First I play them reading the sheets, then I try to play looking at the keyboard and finally I play without looking at the keyboard. So far (up to 3 sharps and 3 flats) I have no difficulties for scales in straight motion. I can play contrary motion looking at the keyboard (not very easily anyway!) , but no way I can play them by memory -e.g. without looking at the keyboard. Do you have any suggestion for that? Thanks.

alsmat

Female Number of posts : 2
Length of time playing piano : since October 2008
Guru Points : 0
Registration date : 2010-06-23

Back to top Go down

scales - question on contrary motion scales Empty Re: question on contrary motion scales

Post by ZoologyGirl Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:22 pm

I think just practicing them, and taking your time for accuracy and gradually working up. Just a few weeks ago I was not able to do any scale in contrary motion, even when looking at the keyboard (well, except maybe C major and A minor). But just by practicing everyday, and slowly working my way up in difficulty I am now able to do probably about 1/3 of the major scales in contrary motion fairly easily without looking at the keys, and am getting better everyday.