Andrew Furmanczyk Piano Academy :: Learn How To Play Piano
Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Why I started playing piano again (seriously) after more than 20 years!

5 posters

Go down

piano - Why I started playing piano again (seriously) after more than 20 years! Empty Why I started playing piano again (seriously) after more than 20 years!

Post by jeanne.supermum Sat Aug 09, 2008 11:58 am

I bought a piano from a friend whose mother-in-law's daughter had only used for a few years. That was in 2001.The piano had been in the hall for at least 10 years before I bought it! It was Korean made - a Dresden.

At the time I was doing shift work and the piano had been an instant source of relaxation for me.

I used to take my old dusty piano books out to just play thru the pieces I had learnt as a child, but never thought about playing seriously. I used to play a lot of Richard Claderman!

But the piano helped me get through the shift work. My kids were only 3-4 yrs old so I had alot of time.

A few years later I became a manager and work was also stressful and music (and also running :-)) helped to relieve stress for me! The kids are bigger and then in 2007, I decided that I wanted to do this seriously and I looked for a teacher and found her.

I always wanted to perform on stage but did not have the guts to do it. So I worked with the teacher for a year and a half and in July this year she asked me to prepare for the concert which I did.

So it was a dream come true for me, just to get on stage and overcome my fear of failure.

After doing this I think I have somehow conquered my own fear of failure. So I will keep practicing and performing every year!