Andrew Furmanczyk Piano Academy :: Learn How To Play Piano
Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Feeling lost....

3 posters

Go down

Feeling lost.... Empty Feeling lost....

Post by Keetz Sun Jun 06, 2010 8:45 pm

I am a sophomore in high school, and I have only been playing piano since 8th grade. Since then, I was so enthusiastic about learning how to play, so I managed to reach level 7 in only a year. Now, my teacher wants me to test for level 9 or 10 in May 2011. It's a huge leap, but he says that I was capable of doing it. I really loved piano. I used to practice a lot until a recent recital in May. As a sophomore, I had to study for two AP tests, so I only had a week to really focus on preparing for the recital. After the AP tests were over, I practiced at least 6 hours each day for the recital. By the end of the week, I was able to play the piece fluently. I could play it when my parents were listening, when my camera was on, and when my aunt and uncle were in the house. I was not nervous at all. But by the day of the recital, I couldn't do it! I couldn't play the piece at all. My hands and feet were shaking way too much. Before it was my turn, I didn't tell myself, "I'm going to mess up. This is going to be really bad." I told myself, "I can't wait to play! I want to show everyone what I've practiced for." But there was just so much adrenaline in my body! When I sat on the chair, I was shaking incontrollably. I took one deep breath, and I played. Once I was at the piece's climax where the tempo started picking up, my hands just played random notes. It was horrible! That whole time, I tried to keep my cool as I continued to play my piece, but my hands just kept playing the wrong not