Andrew Furmanczyk Piano Academy :: Learn How To Play Piano
Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk

Keyboard Opinions Needed

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Girlygirljune on Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:54 pm

I really want to look for an innexpensive keyboard, Im looking for one that is under 300$ that isnt much but its all i got lol, maybe 200-300$ or less Smile, so im looking in to this one: Yamaha PSR-E313 or this one: Yamaha YPT400MS, Whis would you suggest? Or if you know of others thta are good, then post away! Smile) What a Face Most of you are probably tired of this question, but I really need help

--Thanks--


Last edited by Girlygirljune on Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:02 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Girlygirljune
Beginner pianist
Beginner pianist

Female Number of posts : 8
Location : Los Angeles, California
Guru Points : 0
Registration date : 2008-07-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by pianohama on Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:55 pm

my opinion is u should save ur money and buy something later once u got more Smile u cant get any good stuff for 300$

trust me you'll regret it later (:
avatar
pianohama
Recognized Teacher
Recognized Teacher

Number of posts : 462
Guru Points : 3
Registration date : 2008-03-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Thomandy on Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:08 am

I regreted it after 3 months... But if you save up to 800 you can get an fairly okay digital piano. The weighted keys are important!! Smile
And you wont regret it! Very Happy
avatar
Thomandy
Moderator
Moderator

Male Number of posts : 2616
Age : 32
Location : Norway
Job/hobbies : Bachelor in Social Childcare
Length of time playing piano : 1 year
Guru Points : 46
Registration date : 2008-04-10

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/thomandy

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Girlygirljune on Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:34 am

Well Im just beginning and I dont think ill be getting more money until my B-Day which is in another year, and after all im just a kid so...
avatar
Girlygirljune
Beginner pianist
Beginner pianist

Female Number of posts : 8
Location : Los Angeles, California
Guru Points : 0
Registration date : 2008-07-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Thomandy on Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:37 am

Girlygirljune wrote:Well Im just beginning and I dont think ill be getting more money until my B-Day which is in another year, and after all im just a kid so...

Well, then go ahead Smile You can have ALOT of fun with a keyboard for 300.. But then It might be okay to buy used. U can get older models and used ones that ARE relly great. Its not so dangorous since you are going for somthing electrical. Try to get some help from you parrents to look around. E-Bay or somthing like that. You can do a great deal... Or buy the one you wanted Smile I am sure that is good enough so you can get started Very Happy
avatar
Thomandy
Moderator
Moderator

Male Number of posts : 2616
Age : 32
Location : Norway
Job/hobbies : Bachelor in Social Childcare
Length of time playing piano : 1 year
Guru Points : 46
Registration date : 2008-04-10

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/thomandy

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Girlygirljune on Mon Jul 14, 2008 12:39 am

Thanks!Ill definately get my brother to help me... he knows about the techy stuff :p
avatar
Girlygirljune
Beginner pianist
Beginner pianist

Female Number of posts : 8
Location : Los Angeles, California
Guru Points : 0
Registration date : 2008-07-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Thomandy on Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:14 am

Girlygirljune wrote:Thanks!Ill definately get my brother to help me... he knows about the techy stuff :p

Great Wink Then you can start the youtubeposting WinkWink
avatar
Thomandy
Moderator
Moderator

Male Number of posts : 2616
Age : 32
Location : Norway
Job/hobbies : Bachelor in Social Childcare
Length of time playing piano : 1 year
Guru Points : 46
Registration date : 2008-04-10

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/thomandy

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Girlygirljune on Mon Jul 14, 2008 4:46 pm

Lol Ya!
avatar
Girlygirljune
Beginner pianist
Beginner pianist

Female Number of posts : 8
Location : Los Angeles, California
Guru Points : 0
Registration date : 2008-07-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Admin Andrew on Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:51 pm

I agree a $300 electric keyboard is better than a $0 air keyboard.

If you can look for one function, look for weighted keys, it'll make the most difference.

_________________
"Those who bring sunshine to the lives of other's cannot keep it from themselves."


Take care,

Andrew Furmanczyk :: http://www.howtoplaypiano.ca :: http://ca.youtube.com/user/lypur
avatar
Admin Andrew
Admin
Admin

Male Number of posts : 1277
Age : 30
Location : Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Job/hobbies : Piano teacher, pianist
Length of time playing piano : Started in 1992; 17 years of playing.
Guru Points : 12
Registration date : 2008-02-22

View user profile http://www.howtoplaypiano.ca

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Jordan on Mon Jul 14, 2008 7:59 pm

You'll probably need to spend a bit more than $300 because most digital piano's that are around that price aren't too good. If I were you I'd wait until I save around $800-$900 dollars to buy a a fairly good digital piano with weighted keys at least.

If you have a large budget, an upright piano would be great. It doesn't matter where you start off with, either digital or not, a real piano would be the best, however not everyone can afford buying an upright or grand piano right away.
avatar
Jordan
Moderator
Moderator

Male Number of posts : 244
Age : 26
Location : Toronto, Canada
Job/hobbies : Music, piano
Length of time playing piano : I've been playing on and off since I was 8 years old
Guru Points : 0
Registration date : 2008-02-23

View user profile http://www.howtoplaypiano.ca

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Thomandy on Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:16 pm

Jordan wrote:You'll probably need to spend a bit more than $300 because most digital piano's that are around that price aren't too good. If I were you I'd wait until I save around $800-$900 dollars to buy a a fairly good digital piano with weighted keys at least.

If you have a large budget, an upright piano would be great. It doesn't matter where you start off with, either digital or not, a real piano would be the best, however not everyone can afford buying an upright or grand piano right away.

Hehe, you wrote almost identical as I did first Razz
But thats not an option. She dont think shes gona get so much more money untill her next birthday, wich is in almost a year Smile
avatar
Thomandy
Moderator
Moderator

Male Number of posts : 2616
Age : 32
Location : Norway
Job/hobbies : Bachelor in Social Childcare
Length of time playing piano : 1 year
Guru Points : 46
Registration date : 2008-04-10

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/thomandy

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by pianohama on Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:26 pm

Sooner or later you'll need a proper keyboard/digital piano. And if you buy a cheap one for 300 it will only take longer for you to get that =) I'd say save your money for later Smile maybe youll get some money for christmas or something Smile
avatar
pianohama
Recognized Teacher
Recognized Teacher

Number of posts : 462
Guru Points : 3
Registration date : 2008-03-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by VictorCS on Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:57 pm

It really depends on how much money your'e gonna get in the future, and if you work etc...
If I knew I wouldnt be able to save up some money in 2-3 months time,
or even 1 year, I would've gone for the cheap...

300 usd isnt that much, it's like 2-3 days of work if you have a job. I usually say "dont buy the ponnie, save some more and buy the horse",
but if you cant afford more than the ponnie, then go for the ponnie... And why is it bad to buy a 300usd keyboard... It can come in handy, just look at rick wakeman,
not all his keyboards have weighted keys, and he also has a Minimoog ( cant play more than one key at a time ).

Anyway, make sure you got atleast 61 keys if you wanna start playing,
I could play pretty much what I wanted on my keyboard, but some of
the advanced songs had a few keys outside the 61 key range.


If you can save up some 700-1000usd, great, if not, go for a cheap one, and buy an expensive later.
avatar
VictorCS
Moderator
Moderator

Male Number of posts : 944
Location : Norway
Length of time playing piano : Started playing seriously in 2007, and been doing so since.
Guru Points : 18
Registration date : 2008-03-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Girlygirljune on Tue Jul 15, 2008 2:55 am

Thanks guys for all your help! But at this time I can only afford a $300 one im gonna look for a, hopefully, good one Very Happy And Yea 61 keys to start with XD
avatar
Girlygirljune
Beginner pianist
Beginner pianist

Female Number of posts : 8
Location : Los Angeles, California
Guru Points : 0
Registration date : 2008-07-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Thomandy on Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:09 am

Girlygirljune wrote:Thanks guys for all your help! But at this time I can only afford a $300 one im gonna look for a, hopefully, good one Very Happy And Yea 61 keys to start with XD

Well, you can get one that has 88 keys and wheighted keys for 300. I had a 61, and that sucked big time!! Razz
Its so frustrating when you cant learn a song couse of the lack of keys!

Buy now. Use 300. But get weighted keys and make sure there are 88 of them!! Wink
avatar
Thomandy
Moderator
Moderator

Male Number of posts : 2616
Age : 32
Location : Norway
Job/hobbies : Bachelor in Social Childcare
Length of time playing piano : 1 year
Guru Points : 46
Registration date : 2008-04-10

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/thomandy

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Girlygirljune on Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:31 pm

Thomandy wrote:
Girlygirljune wrote:Thanks guys for all your help! But at this time I can only afford a $300 one im gonna look for a, hopefully, good one Very Happy And Yea 61 keys to start with XD

Well, you can get one that has 88 keys and wheighted keys for 300. I had a 61, and that sucked big time!! Razz
Its so frustrating when you cant learn a song couse of the lack of keys!

Buy now. Use 300. But get weighted keys and make sure there are 88 of them!! Wink

The closest ive gotten to what your saying is this: http://www.guitarcenter.com/Yamaha-NP-30-Digital-Keyboard-702663-i1320984.gc Usually what your talking about is maybe 600-700$$ :s
avatar
Girlygirljune
Beginner pianist
Beginner pianist

Female Number of posts : 8
Location : Los Angeles, California
Guru Points : 0
Registration date : 2008-07-10

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Thomandy on Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:50 pm

That sound like a great way to start. It got atleast tuchsensitivity and even a pedal Smile I would go for somthing like that. I used 300 bucks on my first keyboard, and that wasnt anything near that Smile Loked nice, and got alot of kays =)
avatar
Thomandy
Moderator
Moderator

Male Number of posts : 2616
Age : 32
Location : Norway
Job/hobbies : Bachelor in Social Childcare
Length of time playing piano : 1 year
Guru Points : 46
Registration date : 2008-04-10

View user profile http://www.youtube.com/thomandy

Back to top Go down

Re: Keyboard Opinions Needed

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum