Andrew Furmanczyk Piano Academy :: Learn How To Play Piano
Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Enjoy your time with the music community! Log in now to start posting!

~Andrew Furmanczyk
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

piano "strumming" ...

4 posters

Go down

piano "strumming" ... Empty piano "strumming" ...

Post by scotchex Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:36 pm

Hi, I've enjoyed your videos on YouTube and thought I'd register to ask you my question.

First, perhaps, let me explain where I'm coming from, musically. I've been playing guitar for 10 years or so. I typically just play rhythm guitar and accompany myself (or others) singing. I just play for enjoyment and it's just a hobby. And I'm primarily self-taught.

I primarily enjoy singing and learned guitar so I could accompany myself. Over the years I've learned a fair # of strumming patterns and some finger picking and a few flourishes here and there. Enough that I'm happy where I'm at. I can entertain myself, my little nephews, my girlfriend. Most rock and pop songs I can do passable versions of.

(Actually since my voice sounds like a Johnny Cash/Neil Diamond hybrid, I don't really sound like the original songs, but that's ok. It's always funny to do pop songs in a Johnny Cash voice. Well, at least it's funny to me.)

Anyway, I started learning piano/keyboard a while back. I own a keyboard, but my father has a traditional piano that I have regular access to.

What I'm looking for are the equivalent of "strumming patterns" for piano, if you know what I mean. At this stage I can play all the major and minor chords and their inversions. My problem is my piano playing sounds boring compared to my guitar playing -- it lacks rhythm and variety.